Skip to content
ICE North West


ICE North West's regional committee, branch committees and special interest groups in the region plan and organise how we support and share knowledge with ICE members.

Regional committees and branches

ICE's work in the North West is carried out by the regional committee. It's made up of branch members and interest groups, and is supported by the Regional Support Team. Committee members are volunteers and come from a range of backgrounds within the civil engineering profession.

Find out more about the committees and groups, including who's involved and how you can get in touch.

The North West Regional Committee is the focal point for matters that are important to civil engineers in the region.

It helps raise the profile of civil engineering as a profession and a career choice and promotes continuing professional development among ICE members.

Get in touch: [email protected]

Name Position
Nushma Juwaheer chair
Lewis Brimmell vice chair
Kit Wolverson junior vice chair
Stephen O'Malley past chair
Steven Reid hon treasurer
Joshua Martin hon secretary
Chaido (Yuli) Doulala-Rigby general council member
Gerald Knights general council member
Jeff Ashurst regional council member
Antje Budge chair, Cheshire Branch
Brian Fearon chair, Cumbria Branch
Chris Taylor Chair, Lancashire
Maria Eftimova chair, Manchester Branch
Philip Kirby chair, Merseyside Branch
Giuliana Kyerematen chair, Early Careers Network
Ian Scotland chair, Geotechnical Group
David Boyer chair, Transportation Engineering Group
Emmanuel Adegboro and Tarisiro Fundira champions, Fairness, Inclusion and Respect
Claire Pallett lead, Fellows' Network

The Cheshire Branch holds a thriving range of high-quality technical meetings, covering a wide spectrum of interests.

Contact: [email protected]

Name Position
Antje Budge chair
Karishma Dhunnoo vice chair

Other members: Craig Gelder, Emma Wilson, Francis Kwateng, John McGowan, Jon Hughes, Ola Owolabi, Tom Glovehew.

The Cumbria Branch aims to challenge the traditional perception of civil engineers and celebrate the everyday engineering heroes in the region. It does this by offering a varied and wide-ranging programme of events that promote civil engineering, and by highlighting the positive impact that civil engineers have on society.

Contact: [email protected]

Name Position
Brian Fearon Chair
Scott Christian Vice Chair

Other members: Craig Hay, Dylan Atkinson, Ed Dobson, Elizabeth Morgan, Greg Pearson, Gareth Scott, James MacFadden, Jonathan Clarke, Steven Reid,

Our Lancashire Branch chair, Chris Taylor, is currently looking for civil engineers within Lancashire and the Isle of Man to help us re-establish our committee, which helps to support members in the area.

Meetings can be held online and support is available in re-establishing this vital network.

It's a great way to build your own network, get involved with the profession, give something back and shape the offer for local engineers.

Could you help?

To arrange an informal chat, or to let us know you'd like to be involved, contact us: [email protected]

Name Position

The Manchester Branch is diverse, forward-thinking and active, and works with various engineering institutions and organisations involved in the built environment. It aims to increase interest and attendance at technical meetings to help members continue their professional development.

Contact: [email protected]

Name Position
Maria Eftimova chair
Marcus Hunter senior vice chair
Sam Akrill junior vice chair

Other members: Aimilia Miliori, Andrew Murray, Andrew Nicholson, Connor Meecham, Guy Rigby, Jonathan Han, Kathleen Harrison, Lauren Luck, Levingsham Augusthus Nelson, Lewis Brimmell, Matthew Willis, Meini Su, Paul McMahon, Paul Morris, Peter Hallsworth, Philip Isgar, Roisin Massey, Stephen Nortley, Tom O’Grady.

The Merseyside Branch Committee represents the interests and views of local members at regional and national levels of ICE. It offers ways for members, at all stages in their career, to come together and share knowledge.

Contact: [email protected]

Name Position
Philip Kirby chair
Chloe Swart senior vice chair
Philip Evans junior vice chair
Vincent Ly branch secretary
Alan Williams branch treasurer

Other members: Adam Mannis, Andrew Lowe, Ben Hodgson, Charlotte Osborne, Chris Griffiths, David Hunter, Emma Bonner, Lewis Williams, Martin Pocock, Matthew Hurst, Michaela Gkantou, Pelumi Ojuri, Rebecca King, Terry McCormick

There are around 3,300 graduate and student ICE members in the North West region. The committee aims to support all graduate and student members to become better engineers. We organize events, courses, competitions and socials, helping members develop their careers and bringing like-minded people together.

Contact: [email protected]

Name Position
Giuliana Kyerematen chair
Callum Southgate senior vice chair
Hannah Bullock junior vice chair
Jacob Niblett treasurer
Paige Bicker-Carteen secretary

Other members: Alyaa Alhamaidah, Eleanor Lythgoe, George Hewitt, Kabeer Mehmood, Samuel Fenton, Sophie Cheung, Sophie Dick, Vincent Ly, Yannis Wong, Zaky Ardian

Special interest groups

The North West region's special interest groups (SIGs) focus on particular aspects of civil engineering. The groups are run by members on a voluntary basis, and provide an opportunity to discuss topics, share knowledge and meet up for social activities.

If you would like to get involved in one of these groups, then please contact the relevant chairperson.

The group promotes understanding of geotechnical and geo-environmental engineering issues, and provides opportunities for members and non-members to meet, exchange views and attend presentations.

Contact: [email protected]

Name Position
Ian Scotland Chair

Other members: Edouardos Karavakis, Gabriella Manning, Jonathan Taylor, Paul McMahon.

The Historical Engineering Group is for anyone in the North West who has an interest in historical engineering works. It provides an opportunity to discuss topics with like-minded people. The group also helps the ICE Panel for Historical Engineering Works (PHEW) to record historical works and promote historical engineering within the community.

Contact:¬†[email protected]

Name Position
TBC Chair
Denis O'Gara Honorary Secretary

Other members: Alan Williams, Anthony Clarke, Bob Atkinson, Chris Caple, Chris Hudson, Ian Weir, Jonathan, John Parker, Peter Simpson, Robert Steeds, Steve Jones, Yuli (Chaido) Doulala-Rigby.

The Transportation Engineering Groups provides an opportunity for members to discuss and promote the study and practice of transportation engineering on land, water or in the air. For any queries, please contact a member of the committee.

Contact: [email protected]

Name Position
David Boyer Chair

Other members: Alec Curley, Gary Rowland, Huw Jenkins, Nicola Kane.