Skip to content
ICE Northern Ireland


ICE Northern Ireland's prestigious awards promote the work of civil engineers and encourage excellence in the profession across the region. The awards recognise projects ICE members are involved with, as well as outstanding individual achievements and knowledge.

Recognising individual achievement

ICE Northern Ireland runs awards and competitions which celebrate achievements and develop the skills of civil engineers in the region. Find out more about them in the sections below and how you can get involved.

Find out more about the awards and how you can enter.

This medal celebrates the academic career and research of the Region's esteemed Past Chairman and Past President Adrian Long. Adrian Long donated funds to the Institution to establish a prize in his name for the best paper published in a technical journal.

Adrian Long Medal winner 2022

Adrian Long Medal winner 2022 winner Paul Sargent
The 2022 winner was Dr Paul Sargent for ‘A new framework for quantifying the structure of undisturbed and artificially cemented alluvium’. Published in Geotechnique Sept 2021. Co-Author Mohamed Rouainia.

The Ferguson Medal was introduced in 1982 and is named after Robert Ferguson OBE, founder of Ferguson McIlveen. It recognises his contribution to civil engineering and the Institution in Northern Ireland. It is awarded for the best paper, submitted in any year by a regional member.

Ferguson Medal winner 2023

Ferguson Medal 2023 winner Ronan Carlin and Niamh Treanor
The Ferguson Medal was awarded to Ronan Carlin and Niamh Treanor for their paper: Swan Park, Buncrana

The Poskitt Medal commemorates Fred Poskitt, a Past Chairman (1972-73) who bequeathed a legacy to ICE. It is awarded for the best paper on design or construction of water resource, or water supply works, submitted in any year by a regional member.

Poskitt Medal winner 2023

Poskitt Medal 2023 winner David Parr
The Poskitt Medal was awarded to David Parr for his paper: Thirlmere Water Supply Scheme, West Cumbria

The STEM Ambassador of the Year Award honours an individual who has shown outstanding commitment to civil engineering by giving their time to inspire the next generation of civil engineers on behalf of ICE.

To apply entrants must:

  • Be a current ICE member living or working in Northern Ireland
  • Be a registered STEM Learning Ambassador
  • Have carried out at least one activity in the last year as an ICE STEM Ambassador

Nominations can be made by the individual themselves or by another ICE member on behalf of someone they would like to see recognised.

STEM Ambassador of the Year 2023-24
Congratulations to ICE NI STEM Ambassador of the Year 2023-24 Timothy McCaughey, Translink

The ICE NI Sustainability Award is a biennial award, presented to a Northern Ireland civil engineering project that has demonstrated outstanding environmental sustainability.

In particular, the Award is made based on the following criteria:

  • innovation;
  • community benefit:
  • environmental benefit;
  • the economy of materials and labour & the whole life cost of the scheme;
  • value engineering, and health and safety.

Read more about the 2022 entries here

Sustainability Award 2022

The award was collected by project partners NI Water (Mark Brownlee), BSG (Cillian Ward) and RPS (Ryan Murray).

2022 winner: Ballykelly Wastewater Treatment Works Upgrade
2022 winner: Ballykelly Wastewater Treatment Works Upgrade

Emerging Engineers Award

The Emerging Engineers Award promotes and rewards excellence in the originality and communication of civil engineering ideas and research.